BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir has said the entire nation is now united to see change of the government.

"We will no take part in election under this government. So, no alternative path is opened except to realise the demand of a caretaker government through one-point movement to bring the people's representatives to power," he said.

Mirza Fakhrul was speaking at a seminar on "Non-party caretaker government is still constitutional' at a hotel at Gulshan in the capital on Wednesday (June 21) afternoon.

The BNP Secretary General said the present prime minister who was the leader of the opposition in 2006 said, "The caretaker government's provision will have to be made effective for continuity of the constitution."

"Why she (Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina) is making so much objection to caretaker government system though she laid emphasis on reform of the caretaker government system in 2006? Why doesn't she accept it now," Fakhrul asked.

"We all have now one demand that Sheikh Hasina leaves the power," she said.

Fakhrul said all the political parties of the country now have reached consensus that the present government must resign from power. "We want to see transfer of power to a neutral caretaker government. It is our responsibility to uphold the significance of a caretaker government to people."

The BNP leader said it has become crystal clear that the Awami League government had abolished the caretaker government system to establish one-party BKSAL rule in the country in a very pre-planned way. "So, we must launch a greater movement to force the government holding the next general election under a caretaker government, because there is no alternative to election for the people's representative to go to power."

Chaired by the BNP Secretary General, the seminar was also attended by the party's standing committee members Mirza Abbas, Dr Abdul Moyeen Khan, Amir Khasru Mahmud Chowdhury, Gayeshwar Chandra Roy, Selima Rahman, vice-chairman Abdullah Al Noman, AZM Zahid Hossain, joint secretary general Moazzem Hossain Alal and Chairperson's adviser Ahmed Azam Khan.

Besides, Kalyan Party chairman Maj Gen Ibrahim, Nagorik Oikya convener Mahmudur Rahman Manna, Ganatantra Manch's Hasnat Qayuum, Saiful Huq, Gono Forum's Prof Abu Sayeed, mong others, were present.